Premier League Golden Boot winners and top scorers by season.

Photo credit: footballTalk

The English Premier League (EPL) is an English football league contested by 20 teams each season with 38 games played between August and May of the following year. A team that finishes at the top position wins the Premier League trophy.

Premier League clubs also fight for a spot to take part in European competitions. Teams that finish second, third and fourth positions qualify for UEFA Champions League while positions five and six get a ticket for UEFA Europa League.

In every single season, a player who scores the most goals in the Premier League is awarded the Golden Boot, the player with the most assists takes home the award of a playmaker of the season, and a goalkeeper with the most clean sheets wins the Golden Gloves.

Since the Premier League was started in the year 1992, a number of players have emerged as the leading goal scorers with Teddy Sheringh being the first to win the Golden Boot. Thierry Henry is the player with a record of most Golden Boot awards winning them on four occasions.

Premier League Golden Boot Winners 1992-2022

2021-22Mohamed SalahEgyptLiverpool2335
2021-22Son Heung-minSouth KoreaTottenham2335
2020-21Harry KaneEnglandTottenham2335
2019-20Jamie VardyEnglandLeicester City 2335
2018-19Mohamed SalahEgyptLiverpool2238
2018-19Sadio Mane     SenegalLiverpool        2236
2017-18Mohamed SalahEgyptLiverpool        3238
2016-17Harry KaneEnglandTottenham Hotspur2930
2015–16Harry Kane     EnglandTottenham Hotspur2538
2014–15Sergio Agüero ArgentinaManchester City          2633
2013–14Luis Suárez     UruguayLiverpool        3133
2012–13Robin van PersieNetherlandsManchester United2638
2011–12Robin van PersieNetherlandsArsenal3038
2010–11Carlos Tevez   ArgentinaManchester City2031
2010–11          Dimitar BerbatovBulgariaManchester United2032
2009–10Didier Drogba Ivory CoastChelsea2932
2008–09Nicolas AnelkaFranceChelsea1936
2007–08Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United3134
2006–07Didier Drogba Ivory CoastChelsea2036
2005–06Thierry Henry FranceArsenal2732
2004–05Thierry Henry FranceArsenal2532
2003–04Thierry Henry FranceArsenal3037
2002–03Ruud van Nistelrooy    NetherlandsManchester United2534
2001–02Thierry Henry FranceArsenal2433
2000–01Jimmy Floyd HasselbainNetherlandsChelsea2335
1999–00Kevin Phillips EnglandSunderland3036
1998–99Michael Owen EnglandLiverpool1830
1998–99Dwight Yorke TrinidadManchester United1833
1998–99Jimmy Floyd HasselbainkNetherlandsLeeds United   1836
1997–98Chris Sutton    EnglandBlackburn Rovers1835
1997–98Dion Dublin    EnglandCoventry City 1836
1997–98Michael Owen EnglandLiverpool1836
1996–97Alan Shearer   EnglandNewcastle United2531
1995–96Alan Shearer   EnglandNewcastle       3135
1994–95Alan Shearer   EnglandBlackburn Rovers3442
1993–94Andy Cole      EnglandNewcastle United3440
1992–93Teddy SheringhEnglandTottenham Hotspur2241

Some facts about the Golden Boot

  • Alan Shearer and Robin Van Persie are the only players that have won the Golden Boot consecutively
  •  with two different clubs.
  • Alan Shearer won the Golden Boot with Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle in the 1994-95 and 1995-96 seasons respectively.
  • Robin Van Persie won the Golden Boot with Blackburn Arsenal and Manchester United in the 2011-12 and 2012-13 seasons respectively.
  • English nationality players have won the most Golden Boots with 9 players having won it 14 times with Dutch player being the second most winner with 3 players winning it five times.
  • Arsenal and Liverpool’s players have won the Golden Boot the most with each producing winners on six occasions.
  • Thierry Henry is the only player who has won the Golden Boot the most having won on four occasions; 2001-02, 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06.
  • Golden Boot winner receives 1,000 euros for every goal to donate to a charity organization of their choice.
  • Mohammed Salah, Alan Shearer, and Robin Van Persie have won the Golden Boot three times each. Other players that have won it more than once include; Didier Drogba, Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink, and Michael Owen.
  • Dwight Yorke became the first player to win the Golden Boot from Outside Europe in the year 1999.
  • Mohammed Salah set a record for the most goals scored in a single season to win the Golden Boot during the 2017-18 season after scoring 32 goals in 38 games.
  • Only four players have won the Golden Boot and the European Golden Shoe in the same season. They are Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Suarez, Phillips, and Henry.
  • Allan Shearer and Thierry Henry hold the record of winning the Golden Boot in three consecutive seasons.
  • The Golden Boot has had 3 joint top scorers on 3(1998,1999 and 2019) occasions and 2 joint scorers on one occasion (2011).
  • The least number of goals that won the Golden boot was 18 in a season.
  • The Golden Boot Award is sponsored by Castrol.

Recent Posts